FTSE100: Boring and slow?

grubs50

Is it just me or do other ppl find trading the FTSE100 a bit slow and boring? . As a newbie, i am beginning to wonder how ppl make money from trading it short-term.......maybe someone out there can enlighten me more about it.

Last edited:
I used to trade it on P&F breakouts. But too many failed breaks were bleeding me. I switched to the Dow for greater daily ranges. I still dabble in Ftse Fut.

My feelings exactly.

I tried trading futures on SMI and FTSE this year but the boredom and false breaks of high/lows was bleeding me too. I have had more success with e-mini dow because you get a lot more opportunities and the moves are a lot bigger.

Having attended one of Mr.Charts coaching days and going to see Naz next week, my thoughts now are to trade the Nasdaq shares and hopefully this will provide consistant profits.

Paul

Hmmm nobody disagreeing so far........interesting!!!...........i would like to read the opinion of someone like FTSE_BEATER cos his name implies (to me) that he is making a killing from trading the FTSE100 so probably won't find it boring and slow

Ok try trading i this way.

1. Only trade past midday once the market has got into a rythem.
2. Trade probability of price movement.
3. Higher stakes less movement.

This is how I have traded the ftse since march and it works quite well.

Note: This is only a basic overview and obviously there is more to my trading than that but try looking at trading this way in a market of lethargy.

Ftse at the moment is around 4240 bouncing from 4237's-4247. @ 12 if the scenario is unchanged I would be a cautious buyer @ 40's but be aware the mkt looks more set for a break in the next cycle.

I'm trading on intraday movements in the FTSE using up/down hourly bets on Betonmarkets.

Find this easier and more profitable for me than SB.